Video: Fan runs onto pitch, takes penalty and scores!

Posted by - September 20, 2009 - Football videos, Oddballs

Pitch invader is spot-kick expert

Fantastic action from the Russian league this weekend. Spartak Moscow’s Alex was steadying himself and centring his Zen as he prepared to take a penalty against Saturn. A pitch invader with little patience and a decent left peg took the opportunity to enter the field of play and put the ball into the net on Alex’s behalf.

He even brought a mate along to join in the goal celebrations!

Update: Glad you asked, Alex (see comments section). When Alex attempted to take the penalty again he put it into the opposite corner from the pitch invader, but he took so long about it that the referee ordered another retake. At the third attempt he did successfully convert the penalty, going the same way as the pitch invader but the spot-kick was nowhere near as good as the fan’s! You can see the retakes in the video below.

  • alex d

    my question is, did the player score the penalty after all of that? did the player shoot the same direction as the pitch invader? re-post a response!!!!