FIFA reveals nominations for the Puskas Award 2012

Posted by - November 15, 2012 - Football videos, Golazo

FIFA has released its list of nominations for the fourth edition of its Puskas Award, rewarding the player who it believes has scored the greatest goal in the past year. The goals are as follows:

Agyemang Badu – for Ghana against Guinea, 1 February
Hatem Ben Arfa – for Newcastle against Blackburn, 7 January
Radamel Falcao – for Atletico Madrid v America de Cali, 19 May
Eric Hassli – for Vancouver Whitecaps v Toronto FC, 16 May
Olivia Jimenez – for Mexico v Switzerland, 22 August
Gaston Mealla – for Nacional Potosi v The Strongest, 29 January
Lionel Messi – for Argentina v Brazil, 9 June
Neymar – for Santos v Internacional, 7 March
Moussa Sow – for Fenerbahce v Galatasaray, 17 March
Miroslav Stoch – for Fenerbahce v Genclerbirligi, 3 March

For the first time, the vote will be decided by public vote, which means there will be a surge in Geordie phonelines higher even than when Cheryl Cole teamed up with Joe McElderry on X Factor.

It does raise the question of exactly how FIFA will change the award to squeeze in Zlatan’s fourth from last night?