New Zealand beat minnows New Caledonia 2-1 last Friday, and attacker Shane Smeltz took a horrendous kick to the face during the final seconds, which unbelievably was not seen as worthy of a penalty.
The referee gave a goal kick for a smash into the head which led to the injury, a picture of which Smeltz tweeted below. Smeltz also wrote a newspaper column about the incident.
“My head throbbed in bed on Friday night and my forehead was swollen. The shock at Australian referee Strebre Delovski’s decision not to award a penalty or a red card for the terrible challenge has been widespread, so I won’t use my column to rant and rave.”