No FA action over challenge by Burnley’s Ashley Barnes on Chelsea’s Nemanja Matic
The FA will not be taking disciplinary action against Burnley forward Ashley Barnes for his shin-high challenge on Chelsea’s Nemanja Matic, it has confirmed.
The Blues midfielder was sent-off for his reaction to Barnes’ lunge on him, which involved him sprinting towards the Clarets man and pushing him over, during Saturday’s Premier League game.
Matic now faces a three-match ban, which will rule him out of Sunday’s Capital One Cup final clash with Tottenham Hotspur.
Barnes’ challenge was branded “criminal” by Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho but, because it was seen by the match officials at the time, he will not face any retrospective action.
The FA tweeted confirmation that Barnes could not face further punishment.
In line with this rationale, FA confirm no further action in relation to Ashley Barnes as incident was seen by the officials 5/5
— The FA (@FA) February 23, 2015
They wrote: “In the vast majority of challenges for the ball, no retrospective action is taken as the incident has been seen by the match officials.
“Retrospective action introduced as deterrent for ‘off the ball incidents’ [e.g. kicks, stamps etc.] committed out of sight of officials.
“Whole game in agreement that, in vast majority of cases, match officials are best-placed to deal with incidents to avoid re-refereeing.
“In line with this rationale, FA confirm no further action in relation to Ashley Barnes as incident was seen by the officials.”
Chelsea are rumoured to be appealing Matic’s red card.