Blackburn score cheat goal against Wigan – video
Wigan-na appeal the decision
It’s fair to say that Blackburn needed to gain at least a point yesterday for Steve Kean to avoid receiving his P45 this week, but I’m not sure too many people thought that he was the kind of manager that would cheat his way to a draw.
However, that’s exactly what happened with Blackburn’s second goal, when Morten Gamst Pedersen simply took the corner to himself, running to the edge of the box with the ball before crossing for Yakubu to score. Inexplicably, referee Andre Marriner completely missed the incident, allowing the goal to stand.
Roberto Martinez was rightly fuming:
I don’t know what to say. If I’m going to be honest I’m going to get into trouble and it’s going to cost me a lot of money. The decision is hard to take, hard to explain because I could watch it 10 times on the television and couldn’t tell you what happened. On live it didn’t seem he touched the ball, and for a referee to allow that is hurtful. As a referee I’m sure you have to watch the ball at all times. The players were confused, they felt Yakubu left the ball for Pedersen, after that they didn’t know why it was allowed
One suspects that Mr Marriner maybe on Championship duty next week.